Five in Five with Corey Whaley

Wanna know how talented this week’s Five in Five author is? He’s talented enough to win both the William C. Morris YA Award as well as the Michael L. Printz Award for his debut novel, WHERE THINGS COME BACK. All in the same year, peeps. Totally unheard of. This guy rocks and we can’t wait to interview him. Ready, Corey?

First, whatcha’ reading now?

I just started “We the Animals” by Justin Torres. It’s beautiful. I recently finished Aaron Karo’s “Lexipros and Cons,” which was hilarious.

If you could join any band, which would you pick?

I’d probably pick Fun for its obvious namesake. And because I love their music like mad.

Can’t say I’ve heard of Fun but will def check it out.  If you could be roommates with a character from any book, who would it be?

I’d pick Billy Pilgrim from Slaughter-House Five. Mostly because I want to live in a Vonnegut novel.

If you had the choice to live with a gorilla that knows sign language or a dog that sings lullabies, which would you pick?

Definitely a gorilla that know sign language. Lullabies get old fast when you’re pushing 30.

I’m a dog lover, but yeah, the lullabies are a deal breaker. Gorilla it is. Our readers always love to know random things. Can you tell us something random about yourself?

Sure—I hate lettuce. For real, I refuse to eat it. It’s the worst. That is all.

Seriously? And here I never thought it had much taste. lol  And for a bonus, because we love a good bonus question, if you could tag another author for our Five in Five interview, who would it be and what should we ask them?

I’d tag Maggie Stiefvater and ask her about her favorite homemade airplane food.

Okay, now I’m curious. I’ll have to track her down and ask her to join us. Thanks a ton for entertaining us Corey and congrats on all the accolades for your debut. Can’t wait to read more by you. WRN? fans, you can keep up with Corey’s happenings in these places. Happy reading!

Website

Twitter

Tumblr

This entry was posted in More Reads! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment