Five in Five with Donna Gephart

I’m super excited about our Five in Five today!  Donna Gephart is the funny, talented author of As If Being 12 ¾ Isn’t Bad Enough, My Mother Is Running for President and How to Survive Middle School.  Last month, Olivia Bean, Trivia Queen hit shelves in bookstores and on-line.  I can’t wait to read her new book, and as if being an award-winning author isn’t enough, Donna Gephart is a sweetheart, too.

So, Donna. Please tell us Whatcha’ Reading Now?

D:  Imagine (How Creativity Works) by Jonah Lehrer. So far I’ve learned that our greatest bursts of creative output often comes after our most frustrating moments, where we’re ready to quit. So, power through those tough times!

Oh, I have to look for that, I love books about creativity and writing.

Now, if you could be on a popular reality TV show, which one would you pick and why?

D:  Who has time for TV? I’m busy writing! Is there a show called Harried Housewives, where women juggle career, kids, pets, house, volunteering, etc.? Oh, yeah, it’s called life.

Haha!  Right there with you.  Maybe we could be part of the cast for the premier episode on Season 1, okay?

But now we’re going to imagine that you have free time. You get to spend the afternoon with any famous person from history that you want. Who would you hang out with and what would you do?

D:  I’d LOVE to hang out with Stephen King and chat about his writing process and hear about what he’s working on now.

Yes, that’d be fun, for sure. Okay, question 4:  What is your favorite sound?

D:  I love hearing my kids laughing. And our dog has a hilarious bark/howl, that cracks me up every time I hear it.

Aww…that’s sweet!  Last one. Tell us one more random thing about yourself.

D: I have mad hula hoop skills and play a mean game of ping pong, but probably wouldn’t do both things at the same time.

That’s fun.  I have mad trivia skills, which is only one of the reasons I’m looking forward to your new book!

And if you could tag another author for a future Five in Five, who would it be and what would you ask them.

D:  I’d like to tag author Audrey Vernick and ask her who she likes to win the World Series this year.

Consider her tagged, Donna and thanks for the interview!

And WRN’ers if you’d like to get to know Donna better, you can visit her at: www.donnagephart.com

*******One last thing!!  A brief commercial message.  If you haven’t stopped by www.whatchareadingnow.com in awhile, our new issue just went up.  It’s a mash-up of some of our favorites that didn’t fit anywhere else.*************

~ Shel Delisle, WRN girl

This entry was posted in Five in Five and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five in Five with Donna Gephart

  1. Let’s see….who will the Yankees play in the World Series–that’s pretty much what you’re asking, right? Great interview! I had no idea Donna was a master hula-hooper!

  2. Great interview!! Donna, your responses were hilarious and spot on for a busy Mom, wife and awesome author! Thanks for brightening my day with a laugh – as you always do with your books!

  3. Pingback: Interview with Donna Gephart « Anita Nolan's blog

Leave a comment