Five in Five with Josh Berk

Boy, oh, boy. Today we have the very talented (and very funny) Josh Berk with us.  Josh is the author of The Dark Days of Hamburger Halpin and of the new, like really hot off the presses, Guy Langman Crime Scene Procrastinator.  Josh also claims that he is a procrastinator, but I know he’s kidding, because he got the answers back on this interview super fast.

Ready?

Whatcha’ Reading Now?
I just started reading ‘Why We Broke Up’ by Daniel Handler. That book is heavy. I don’t mean the content – I mean it literally weighs like 20 pounds. What’s up with that? Maybe it’s all the illustrations. I’m very in favor of the trend of illustrated YA books and hope to get on board, though definitely will have to hire an illustrator because I draw like a child. A very drunk child. (See Exhibit A. That’s a self-portrait. I worked on it for a really long time.)

I love this picture – it’s actually quite good!  And WRNers, you may not know this, but  Josh also dances.  And sings.  If you want to check it out, go here. BUT, not until you finish this interview, k?

So…If you could be a TV detective, who would you want to be?

Probably Elliot Stabler from ‘Law & Order SVU.’ And not just because my co-worker would be Mariska Hargitay but yeah, mostly that… Second choice would be Jim Brass from CSI. I do a pretty good Jim Brass impression around the house, saying stuff to my kids like “Just put the milk down. PUT IT DOWN.” Then I narrow my eyes all squinty and dramatic. It never works but it makes my wife laugh.

I’m going to try it: ANSWER THIS QUESTION.  If you could only have one of the five senses which one would you pick and why?

I am pretty sure the point of life is eating so I’m going to go with taste.

It totally worked.  And, while I’d agree with you, I was really curious to see how you’d answer  that question since the main character in HAMBURGER HALPIN is deaf.  Next one? Who is your biggest hero?

I’m going to say my wife because she puts up with me all the time & pretends my Jim Brass impression is funny.

Ha! Aww…that is really, really sweet.  I hope you show her this interview.

And, drum roll, please, please tell us one very random thing about yourself.

Before I had anything else published, my biggest claim to fame as a writer was a letter to the editor printed in Rolling Stone magazine (2005).

Cool!!

Finally, if you could tag another author for a future interview who would it be and what would you want to ask them?

I’m going to say Chris Rylander because he’s hilarious. I’d like to ask him for fantasy baseball tips because he always wins our league.

Ha!  Okay, making a note of that.

So WRNers, you can go check out Josh’s videos NOW.  Plus…

For more information visit www.joshberkbooks.com

For too much information visit @joshberkbooks on Twitter

~ Shel Delisle, WRNgirl

This entry was posted in Five in Five and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

