Five in Five with Arthur Slade

a nice photo of Art   Five in Five with Arthur Slade

Heya, WRN?’ers. We’re psyched to have Arthur Slade with us today. He’s the mega-author of over 15 novels. From middle-grade graphic novels, creepy short stories, sci-fi and more, he’s got it covered. Ever heard of The Hunchback Assignments series? Yup,that’s Arthur’s. They are Steampunk novels at their best. You gotta check him out. You can do that right here.

Ready, Art?

1. First, we wanna know…Whatcha’ Reading Now?

Frankenstein! By Mary Shelley. I’m doing a bit o’ research for the 4th Hunchback Assignments book. I find her version of Frankenstein’s monster the scariest because he’s ultra-intelligent. And he’s a vegetarian. He just eats berries and nuts! Err, not that vegetarians scare me. But 6 foot 10 vegetarians that have a murderous side do frighten me. I often cower when I see them coming.

2.  What’s the first book you remember really loving and how old were you at the time?

Oh, that has to be The Hobbit. I was nine years old and I adored that book. My teacher read the book to the class and I was so entranced. Those hobbits were cool, even if they did have hairy feet. Actually, the fact they had such hairy feet was kind of cool, too. They didn’t need shoes. Think how much money that would save.

3. If you could be a superhero, what would you want your kick-butt power to be?

Ultra-thesaurus-brain. That’s right, instead of picking a power that would save the world, I want one that would automatically allow me to choose the perfect word for the perfect situation. Someone would shout, “What’s another word for spittoon?” and I’d shout “cuspidor.” And then everyone would get grossed out because they’d think about all the chewing tobacco that ends up being spit into a spittoon. Okay, maybe it’s not a great kick butt power.

4. If you could be a food, what food would you want to be?

Edamame. I mean what is that stuff? It’s green. It’s a bean. It’s full of protein. And yet it’s so small. Small and powerful. And somehow perfectly shaped. You can tell I spend a lot of time thinking about edamame. Actually, I don’t even know how to pronounce it.

5.  Your turn. Tell us one cool, random thing about yourself.

I live in a city named after a small berry (I seem to be stuck on food): Saskatoon. It’s a purple berry that we use to make pies. I mean it doesn’t even sound real, does it? Saskatoon, Saskatchewan? That’s like a made up place. And then when I tell people that I was actually born in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan…that just blows their minds. I think it’s good for your imagination to live in an imaginary-sounding place.

**Oh, and a bonus question. We all love a good bonus. If you could tag one author for an upcoming issue of our Five in Five who would it be and what burning question should we ask them?

Kenneth Oppel. Hey Ken, what would you rather ride on…a giant bat or a giant airship?

There ya have it. Everything you’ve always wanted to know about our good friend. Thanks a bunch for stopping by Art. And, peeps, you can find his books just about anywhere, so whatcha’ waiting for? Go buy them.

Interviewed by Kerry O’Malley Cerra

This entry was posted in More Reads! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five in Five with Arthur Slade

  1. What a fun interview! Got me laughing! : )

Leave a Reply

