Five in Five with Jay Asher

Hey, WRN? fans. It’s Five in Five Day (for you Tweeps that’s #5n5) We’re crazy-happy to feature bestselling author Jay Asher. His novel TH1RTEEN R3ASONS WHY has spent a whopping 65 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list in hardcover. And has already racked up 15 weeks on the bestseller list for the new paperback.  Plus, 13RW is being made into a movie starring Selena Gomez. (Release date TBA) Cool, right? You think that’s great? Wait till you hear this. Jay has co-authored a new book with Carolyn Mackler. You can pre-order The Future of Us now, but its official release day is November 21, 2011.

See why we’re stoked to have him join us?

Ready, Jay?

  1. Of course we want to know, Whatcha’ Reading Now?

I just finished Jason Zinoman’s Shock Value, about the writers and directors behind the “golden age” of modern horror.  And I love non-fiction books where writers discuss their odd obsessions. In that category, I’m finishing up (and loving) Wendy McClure’s The Wilder Life: My Adventures in the Lost World of Little House on the Prairie. I’ve always felt that a balanced diet of Michael Myers and Laura Ingalls Wilder is good for you.

2.  If you were a circus star, we’d find you performing in what act?

The trapeze!  Do you remember that show Circus of the Stars? It was like Dancing with the Stars, but so much cooler. If they had Circus of the Authors, I’d be the first to sign up.

3.  If you could time travel, what decade would you want to visit for an extended period of time?

The mid-1770s would be historically amazing. Culturally, the late 1960s. But what would satisfy me the most personally would be the late 1980s. That’s when I really got into music, but I was too young to see most of my favorite bands in concert. So I’d go back to that time and be a concert freak!

4.  What’s the grossest thing you’ve ever done?

I don’t do gross things. Other people may think I do gross things, but I don’t. Probably the grossest thing humans do on a regular basis is eat onions, and that’s something I refuse to do.

5.  What’s one more random thing you’re willing to tell us about yourself.

I used to be a member of the Kids Incorporated Fan Club. That’s back when Fergie was Stacy Ferguson. And I did get to see them live!

**Okay a bonus question, because who doesn’t love a bonus? If you could tag a future author for our Five in Five who would it be and what’s one burning question you’d have for them?

Laini Taylor. Does she feel guilty, even slightly guilty, that her writing makes other writers feel self-conscious?

Awesome! Thanks for visiting with us, Jay. Can’t wait to read The Future of Us.

WRN? peeps, you can find out more about Jay here and here

Interviewed by Kerry O’Malley Cerra

This entry was posted in Five in Five and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five in Five with Jay Asher

  1. WRNgirls says:

    Hey there WRNers, How about you? Do you have an author you want to see under the Five in Five microscope? Or do you have a burning question that we could use for ANY author. If so, leave a comment! 🙂

    If not, you can leave a comment anyway. We love to hear from you!

  2. I read Future of Us and really enjoyed it. Maybe you need to get Carolyn Mackler to answer your questions.

  3. Beth Kephart says:

    If they revive Circus of the Stars, I want to be the thing that disappears. Great questions/great responses. And I won’t touch onions either.

Leave a Reply

