Introducing Five in Five Friday with Dawn Lairamore

Today is capital B, capital I, capital G BIG.

“Why?” you ask.

Because we’re launching Five in Five Fridays.

“What is that?” you ask.

It’s a mini-author interview of only five fun and completely random questions that you can read in five minutes, probably less.  Oh yeah, I forgot to tell you. The Friday part is that we’ll be doing this every Friday. Makes sense, right?  So, we think you’ll enjoy this first author.

“Who is it?” you ask.

Okay, I’m gonna answer, but that’s absolutely your last question.  You’re asking way too many and this is supposed to be about our featured author answering questions.

Our first interview is with Dawn Lairamore, author of the Ivy books.  Ta-da! We reviewed Dawn’s first book, Ivy’s Ever After in Issue # 5 over at the e-zine.  You can check that out by clicking here. Her latest, Ivy and the Meanstalk will release on October 2.  So, that’s any day now and we hope you’ll look for it on-line or at your local bookseller.

Now for Five in Five.  You can start the clock…now.

 1.  Whatcha’ Reading Now?

Catching Fire, the second book in Suzanne Collins’s Hunger Games trilogy.  I think I’m the last person on Earth to read these books, and why did I wait so long?!  I’m loving them!

2.  Would you rather be a ninja warrior or fairy godmother?

How about a fairy ninja warrior?  I have a black belt in a Korean form of martial arts called Kuk Sool Won, so being action-y definitely appeals to me.  But I like fairies, too, and wouldn’t say no to a pair of sparkly fairy wings.

 3.  What’s your favorite smell?

Lavender.  In my Ivy books, Ivy’s nursemaid/mother figure, Tildy, always smells like the lavender water she washes in, so the smell of lavender reminds Princess Ivy of home and someone she loves.  She finds it a very comforting, soothing scent, as do I.

4. Lil John or John Lennon?

Neither. I’m not very mainstream in my musical tastes.  I love world music, Putumayo collections, etc.

 5.  Tell us one more random thing about yourself.

I’m obsessed with peacock feathers.  I think they are the coolest, prettiest things ever!!  I love the colors and how the light dances off them.  I once spent an entire afternoon wandering around an animal sanctuary taking photographs of peafowl’s tail feathers.  I have framed photographs of peacocks on my desk and a big fan made of peacock feathers perched on top of my bookshelf, where I can stare at it all day.

I have a mini-peacock obsession, too!  How funny is that?

Anyway, WRNers, you should definitely stop by Dawn’s web-site, www.dawnbooks.com, where you’ll be able to read sample chapters from both Ivy books, as well as watch the book trailer.  And be sure to check back next Friday for the next installment of Five in Five.

Post by:  Shel Delisle

This entry was posted in Five in Five and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Introducing Five in Five Friday with Dawn Lairamore

  1. Love the interview, and definitely going to check out those Ivy books. Sounds like they’re right up my alley!

  2. Fun idea for Fridays and a great interview!

  3. This was a fabulously fun interview. No one has ever asked me what my favorite smell is before. Thanks for the honor of being the first Five in Five author!

  4. WRNgirls says:

    You’re welcome, Dawn. I had a lot of fun doing this! We hope you’ll be our victim…er…guest for your next book, too. WRNgirl Shel

Leave a Reply

