Five in Five with Shel Delisle (one of our very own WRN? girls!)

Today’s a huge, HUGE day for WRN? Why, because it’s the first time we get to interview one of our very own. SQUEEEEEEE!!!!!!  Shel Delisle’s a co-founder and the brain-child behind our beloved Whatcha’ Reading Now? Her book Dolphin Girl is pure magic. It’s true. I wouldn’t lie to ya!

Dolphin Girl, A.K.A. Jane, is totally relatable. Feeling trapped by the cliques (A.K.A. pods) at school and her mother’s rules at home, Jane longs for freedom. So, when hottie Sam Rojas who, despite being in the trophy case crowd, takes an interest in Jane, a member of the water fountain clan, she starts thinking maybe things can change. And that royally peeves ex-BFF/now trophy caser/I-want-Sam-all-to-myself Alana.

The daisy (he loves me, he loves me not) romance of Sam and Jane had my heart all aflutter. You gotta read this book!

In the meantime, let’s check in with Shel and see what floats her boat.

  1. Of course we wanna know, whatcha’ reading now?   Geez!  This is such a pressure filled question!  I never realized it when we were asking everyone else.  It’s like I’d like to sound half-way intelligent and that is never easy for me to do.

                Okay, here goes.  War and Peace by Tolstoy. 

                Not really. 

Actually, for fiction I’m reading Trash by Andy Mulligan.  It’s a story about a boy named Raphael and his friends who live at a dump and stumble upon something special and mysterious.  Their decision to keep it sets everything in motion.  It’s pretty tense and I think it’s a bit disturbing that I can’t tell if the novel is set in a future dystopian society or present day in a Third World country.   

For non-fiction, I’m reading Blogging for Dummies.  

  1. If you could go back to college and choose one other author to be roomies with, who would ya pick?  How funny!  Okay, if I can’t pick you, then it would have to be Louise Rennison, author of the Georgia Nicholson series.  Here’s why:  she’s hysterical, she comes up with wacked out things to do, and you would always know exactly where you stood with her. 

Aww, shucks. You’re so sweet. And while we’d make great roomies, I think Louise Rennison is waaaaay funnier than I could ever dream of being.

3. Would you rather be left on a ski-lift overnight in a snowstorm or be trapped on a rollercoaster continuously looping for twenty-four hours?  Ha!  Can I say neither?  No?  Okay, ski-lift it is, as long as I have a blanket (and maybe a companion?).

4. Across the Universe (movie not the book) or the Ms. Universe PageantEasy peasy.  I love everything about The Beatles and this movie was a phenomenal artistic interpretation of their music.  So, it’s not even a contest.  Sorry Miss Universe or Ms. Universe or Mrs. Universe, whoever and wherever you are. 

And I’d like to add, if I may, that the book beats the pageant by miles, too.  

Haha, agreed.

5.  Now it’s your turn. Tell us one MORE random thing about yourself. Anything ya want!  Once upon a time, I bought a pet alligator for a boy I was in love with.  Yeah, I know.  Nothing says “I love you” quite like a reptile.  I mean, it’s way more memorable than a Hallmark card, don’t’cha think?

What’s that? You think memorable could mean it’s a bad memory.

Nah, no way.  Besides, it’s what he asked me to bring him.    

Ack, gators are my biggest (and only irrational) fear in life. Even the baby ones. Sheesh, you’re crazy.

** Bonus time. Because who doesn’t love a bonus?  If you could tag a future author for our Five in Five Friday who would it be and what’s one burning question you’d have for them?

I’m a huge fan of A.S. King, so if we could get her to participate that would be incredible and I’d love to know:  Does she think in flow charts?    

See why we’re so excited. She’s awesome. *wiping a tear from eye* There are oodles of ways to check Shel and her book out. Here are some links. And, if you wanna win a paperback copy of Dolphin Girl, leave a comment. It can be about Shel, about our Five in Five (maybe a future author you want to see), about your cliques from HS or whatever. Pretty easy, peeps.

Site

Amazon

Whatcha’ Reading Now web site

Twitter

Facebook page

Goodreads

This entry was posted in Five in Five, More Reads! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five in Five with Shel Delisle (one of our very own WRN? girls!)

  1. Cindy Gress says:

    This book was incredible! Way to go Shel!

  2. The baby gator gift is hilarious, Shel! Shows you think out of the box! Bet his mom loved you. : ) Great interview!

Leave a comment